Skip to content

Follow-up backups fail in "no-delete"-mode, if previous backup(s) aborted, under certain conditions, due to same pack-id being computed #10512

Open

Description

@mirko

I was trying to make myself familiar with the no-delete and append-only operation modes.
It seems that an aborted and later retried session might try to (re)write the same file on the backend, if the new computed pack-id is the same as the one from before (aborted session).
That apparently can indeed happen, if

  • the source material ending up in respective pack didn't change
  • the hashing algorithm used for generating pack-derived filenames does not involve any randomness

resulting in PermissionDenied and hence unsuccessful follow-up attempts in backing up that host.

Tested with mode + operation authenticated-blake3, but there might be others as well.
Maybe this is considered niche or unsupported, but I couldn't find it documented, so I guess at least that would be useful.

Activity

  1. ThomasWaldmann commented on Oct 11, 2026

    @ThomasWaldmann
    Member

    Thanks for the report, will have a look into this.

    Ideally, borg should not rewrite identical stuff that already is in the repo. But there can be circumstances making it happen, e.g. if the repository index does not have information about some chunks / some packs, making the client unaware of these chunks/packs.

    Due to write order (first packs, then index) that can happen if a session is aborted.

    The filenames of the packs are store_hash(content), so the packs can be verified server-side.

  2. added this to the 2.0.0b26 milestone on Oct 11, 2026
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions